Life is Poetry. Living is a Soul Trip

Am I Tripping?

Carmellita
2 min readSep 3, 2022

Take a stroll with me as we take a road trip to freedom. A Poem and Essay.

A pretty black woman with an afro walks down a road labeled with the word freedom. She is holding a back pack on one shoulder and a phone in her hand. She smiles as she walks.
“Traveling the Road to Freedom.” Image Designed by Author: Carmellita in Canva.

Am I tripping if I agree with Jean-Paul Sartre’s existential philosophical belief that,

“Man is not the sum of what he has already, but rather the sum of what he does not yet have, of what he could have.”

After all, I’m a woman — a black woman. But what if I’ve decided to live these dreams too?

What if I, too, believe that man and woman were destined to be free? What if God’s will is for me to strengthen my will, and this strength and wisdom are what truly save me? Am I tripping?

With this in heart and mind, I present to you...

The Road Trip

I took a walk on the road to freedom
as I laid my burdens down by the riverside
and I gleefully embarked on a trip only my soul
understood.

So, forgive me if my peace disturbs
your turmoil because as you’re twisted up inside
I’m living loud, and I wouldn’t turn back now, even
if I could.

--

--

Carmellita

Writer, Poet, Storyteller, & Scholar. Co-founder of http://bluelotusliving.com. BA in Speech Communication. Former ghostwriter who came back to life.