The Morning Muse │Consciousness │Philosophy │Life

As I “Spend Time,” What Will Be My Return on Investment?

Carmellita
4 min readMar 16, 2022

We use the expression “spending time” quite often. But does this expression have a deeper meaning? And how does “spending time” affect our lives?

Place and Time” designed by Author (Carmellita) in Canva

Starting my day earlier than usual, I wanted to take a few moments to write in a stream of consciousness. Writing in a stream of consciousness always gets my creative juices flowing.

I’ve had moments where I’d write in a stream of consciousness for over an hour. So, not to my surprise, I have filled my recent journal pages and notebooks.

Searching for blank pages to load with words, I looked through my large stash of notebooks and journals and ran across my failed “Bujo.”

Two years ago, I tried Bullet Journaling. Yep, a Bujo is a bullet journal.

I didn’t like bullet journaling. Who am I kidding? I hated it. All the tracking and tracking worked my nerves.

Have you ever tracked your expenses down to the penny? Yeah, see, I hate that. Instead I like to estimate up and psyche myself into thinking I have magic money in my bank account.

Bullet Journaling was similar to maintaining a strict budget, a time budget. But when I thought about it, aren’t we…

--

--

Carmellita

Writer, Poet, Storyteller, & Scholar. Co-founder of http://bluelotusliving.com. BA in Speech Communication. Former ghostwriter who came back to life.