Abundance∣ Life ∣ Self-Growth

How I Stay Tuned to My Heart’s Desire

Carmellita
7 min readFeb 8, 2022

Do we know what we want?

Tune in to who you really are and you will know the true desires of your heart.
Tuned in For Real” Designed by Author (Carmellita) in Canva

“My life doesn’t look how I want it to look,” I said aloud. “And I’m not talking about aesthetics. I guess it’s a feeling too. I don’t feel like myself. I’m not miserable per se. It’s just….” I paused.

“Not what you want?” Roslyn asked.

I nodded my head. “I mean, I have a lot to be grateful for. It’s just that after attending one funeral after another.” I took a deep breath my heart was so heavy. “Got me thinking. Really got me thinking.”

Those were the words I told my bestie a few days before I began my Year of Redirecting in 2020. The journey took a year and a half. During those 18 months, I made a mental shift that transformed how I navigate my life and see my world.

Before my Year of Redirecting, I made myself available to everyone and everything but me. If someone needed or wanted something, I made myself available.

I have since discovered that I was running around being a superhero because I wasn’t tuned in to what I wanted. Being a superhero permitted me to put all my dreams and goals on the back burner of my life.

At one point, nearly two years, I was working from home as a ghostwriter and simultaneously bumping a baby on…

--

--

Carmellita

Writer, Poet, Storyteller, & Scholar. Co-founder of http://bluelotusliving.com. BA in Speech Communication. Former ghostwriter who came back to life.