Personality ❘ Consciousness❘ Social Media

Performative Consciousness: Don’t Tell Me You’re Deep

Carmellita
3 min readFeb 16, 2022

Because I won’t believe you’re deep…

She’s Being Deep Right Now.” Designed by Author (Carmellita) in Canva

“Beloved, I’m beyond that level now. My consciousness is like E², you know. I’m like exploding atomic bombs in my mind. I’m too deep for that $h!t,” she said in a slow drawl while moving her henna tattooed hands forming and molding the air between us.

“Wow, my followers need to hear this conversation,” she said squinting her eyes as if she’d just explained the theory of everything.

What conversation? And isn’t it the speed of light that’s squared? I thought.

You’d think she was still reciting poetry, but no, we were standing outside of a hookah bar after our poetry performances.

Is she still performing, I thought. Has she smoked more than the free hookah offered by the bar owner in lieu of payment?

I simply told her I enjoyed her performance (I did) and asked how long she’s been performing. That seemed to be all she needed to sink 7 levels deep in B.S. Yes, capital B.S.

Standing outside the bar bewildered and dismayed. I wasn’t about to take a few hits of hookah(I’m asthmatic) instead of $50 and I wasn’t buying her “I’m so deep” performance either.

--

--

Carmellita

Writer, Poet, Storyteller, & Scholar. Co-founder of http://bluelotusliving.com. BA in Speech Communication. Former ghostwriter who came back to life.