Spiritual Alchemy: When the Outer You Reflects Your Powerful Inner Work

Carmellita
5 min readJun 30, 2022

Let the outer you be a harmonic reflection of your powerful inner work.

“The Inner Work” Designed by Author (Carmellita) in Canva

Growing up, my mother and her sisters had a professional traveling gospel group called “The Brown Sisters” (not to be confused with the “Anointed Brown Sisters). They traveled throughout the Tex-Ark-La-Miss region of the United States (Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana, and Mississippi).

The four-part harmony group would cover the Ol’ Ship of Zion style gospel music. They were backup singers for solo gospel artists and the opening act for various gospel singers and Gospel groups throughout the southern region of the United States.

And there was one particular song The Brown Sisters would sing quite often. The song was titled “Please be Patient with Me” and written by James Cleveland.

Here is an excerpt from the lyrics:

(Chorus)
Please be patient with me
God is Not through with me yet x2
When God gets through with me
when God gets through with me
I shall come forth,
I shall come forth as pure gold (repeat)

(Verse)

--

--

Carmellita

Writer, Poet, Storyteller, & Scholar. Co-founder of http://bluelotusliving.com. BA in Speech Communication. Former ghostwriter who came back to life.