Nostalgia | Childhood Memories

Who Remembers Laffy Taffy?

Carmellita
2 min readMay 18, 2024

A sticky glob of sugary gooeyness accompanied by corny jokes

“Laffy Taffy stole my tooth.” Designed by Carmellita (Author) in Canva and Laffy Taffy logo courtesy of LaffyTaffy.com

If you’re asking, “What the heck is Laffy Taffy?” Laffy Taffy is a chewy, individually wrapped American candy, and inside each wrapper is a riddle joke with an answer to the riddle.

For example: “Why didn’t the skeleton go to the prom?” And the answer would be: “Because he had No BODY to go with.”

Corny, right? But sharing these jokes while chewing on this glob of fruity, sugary, gooeyness was fun.

One day, my cousins and I sat under the plum trees at my grandparent's home in the backyard. We ate a couple of Laffy Taffy’s bought from one of the local convenience stores and read the jokes from the inside wrapper. I had one green apple flavor and one cherry. Green apple was my favorite, but cherry was a close second.

My mom would only allow me to have two, which happened on very few occasions. She said the candy would cause cavities and tear my teeth out of my head. She was right.

While chewing the square shaped half an inch thick sweet and sour taffy, I felt a slight pain in my mouth. My cousin shouted, “Your lip is bleeding.”

I pulled the glob of candy from my mouth. It wasn’t my lip at all. Instead, a tooth…

--

--

Carmellita

Writer, Poet, Storyteller, & Scholar. Co-founder of http://bluelotusliving.com. BA in Speech Communication. Former ghostwriter who came back to life.